I Hate Blockbuster Forum  

Go Back   I Hate Blockbuster Forum > Lovers of Blockbuster > Are You An Employee Of Blockbuster?

Unread March 29th, 2011, 08:27 PM

I am finally free!

Well, as the title states, I am free from big blue! I have been a long time lurker here, but never really felt the need to post before. I have worked for blockbuster for almost 5 years as a store manager. Like everyone here, I have had my ups and downs with the company. At first, this job was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed coming to work and I don't have any complaints about any of my employees at any of the stores I ran.

The last year or two were really difficult on me. I had been so stressed out by everything that had been going on with the company. I had a decent DM. By all means, he was a lot more lenient than our neighboring DM, who I originally worked for years ago and who I witnessed kick a door open once when his district didn't finish first. I was a dedicated store manager. I put in well over my 45 hours, I made sure my store hit all of our goals, I treated every customer with respect, and my employees were really happy. But for the reasons we all know, I really grew more and more tired of working there. I had been keeping my eyes open for any new positions elsewhere, but I wasn't actively seeking jobs. Mainly, I felt a responsibility to my team to not let them down. Store morale had been reaching an all time low, and I didn't want to let anyone down.